Dressing for a 1920s Themed Wedding

It’s been a long time coming – the 1950s revival is still in full swing, but the 1920’s are clearly catching up. (Hah, full swing. Good pun, if I do say so myself.) I’ve been listening to a lot of electro swing lately, and I can see the genre becoming big very quickly. Downton Abbey, Boardwalk Empire, The Artist, The Great Gatsby… all have visually brought the 20s back to us. I’m sure we’re only just seeing the beginning of a 1920s revival. But must it really be a fashion revival, too?

In the past couple of years, I’ve been amazed at how, almost without adaptation or modernisation of its lines and shapes, 50s style clothing has come rushing back into mainstream fashion. Don’t get me wrong, I love 50s (women’s)  fashion, I find the silhouettes very feminine and I’m more than happy to find so many retail clothes that flatter my hourglass figure. And that is exactly why I’m a bit worried about this 1920s enthusiasm. Seriously people, it’s so straight! I had already made up my mind to enjoy the music, the films, the flapper way of life… and to let the fashion pass me by.

Last week, however, we received an intivation to a friend’s wedding. His 1920’s themed wedding, appropriate outfit requested. As much as I already tend to worry about what to wear for weddings, this had me flabbergasted. (Flappergasted? I’m sorry, I’ll stop now.) But I’ve decided to take this as a challenge, and to take it very seriously. I am going to rock this theme. The wedding is in November, but I’m already in full research mode.

I doubt I’ll be able to find an outfit in retail that conforms to the theme and is still flattering on me. I’m considering sewing my own dress, primarily because making it myself will give me some control over how it suits my body type. Here are some of the helpful pointers I have found so far:

  • A blog post on this pretty number over at Coletterie. Not very suitable for winter, but this looks like something I could whip up.

Click the image to go to the original blog post.

  • And another blog post on the construction of this vintage beaded shift dress. This is impressive and inspiring, but all that handstitching looks daunting to me.

Click the image to go to the original blog post.

  • Feathers! Lace! Beads! (Faux) fur!

I’m going to have fun with this, I’m sure – even if I may look like a box on legs. More thoughts on this later!

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Dressing for a 1920s Themed Wedding

  1. great challenge! will be interested in the results!

  2. Christine says:

    Oh, je mag er altijd ook zo eentje voor mij maken, nu je toch bezig bent 😉 Ziet er very pretty uit!

Leave a Reply

